Artist Catalog

James “D Train” Williams

Born: January 21 1962

Official Homepage



James “D Train” Williams

James Nelson Williams (born January 21, 1962), known by the stage name D Train, is an American singer, songwriter, instrumentalist, producer and actor. He rose to fame in the early 1980s with the release of his first album “You're the One for Me” (working with songwriter/producer Hubert Eaves III initially as a duo), which spawned his first US Billboard Dance chart number-one hit, "You're the One for Me". His debut album (under the Prelude Records label) would also chart with the hits "Keep On" and the much covered Burt Bacharach hit "Walk on By". He would go on to work with Eaves producing hits on the follow-up albums Music and Something's On Your Mind before being signed to Columbia Records, producing more hit singles on the albums Miracles of the Heart and In Your Eyes. The two parted ways in 1988 and D Train went on to perform on his own label, releasing albums such as 701 Franklin Ave..

As a songwriter, D Train has written for numerous artists, among them Patti Austin, George Duke, Carl Anderson, John P. Kee and Vanessa Bell Armstrong. He has lent his voice on songs for artists such as Michael Jackson, Elton John, Carrie Underwood and Mary J. Blige as well as many film and television soundtracks. He was the host of “The D Train Show” for many years on Sirius XM Radio and has enjoyed great success as one of the leading jingle vocalists in the industry.

D Train has a wide vocal range and his music has been influenced by Nat King Cole, Paul Robeson, The Jackson Five, Tony Bennett, Mario Lanza, Billy Eckstine, Al Green, Bobby Womack, Mel Tormé and Carl Anderson. His artistic influences include Rock, R&B, Soul, Dance, House, Blues, Gospel, Contemporary Christian and Traditional Native American music.