Artist Catalog

Bruce Peninsula

Formed: August 20 2017

Official Homepage


Bruce Peninsula

Bruce Peninsula is a Canadian indie rock band, whose style has been described as "a near indescribable and rousing potpourri of prog, gospel, folk, rock, pop and country."

Formed in 2006, the band consists of core members Matt Cully on vocals and guitar, Misha Bower on vocals, Neil Haverty on vocals, guitar and metallophone, Andrew Barker on bass guitar and lap steel and Steve McKay on drums. Bruce Peninsula also regularly features a large choir section, currently made up of Tamara Lindeman (The Weather Station), Ivy Mairi, Daniella Gesundheit (Snowblink) and Kari Peddle. The choir has previously included Katie Stelmanis (Austra), Casey Mecija (Ohbijou), Isla Craig, Amy Learmonth (the Youngest), Taylor Kirk (Timber Timbre) and Christienne Chesney.

The band's debut album, A Mountain Is a Mouth, was released February 3, 2009 on their own Bruce Trail Records. The album was named to the preliminary longlist for the 2009 Polaris Music Prize on June 15. Their second album, Open Flames, was released in October 2011 on Hand Drawn Dracula.

In 2012, the band released a 14-minute song cycle entitled 'Of Songs'.
Cron Job Starts