Artist Catalog

the Indigo

The Indigo is a Japanese band originally composed of Miki Taoka (田岡 美樹, Taoka Miki) on vocals, Yuichi Ichikawa (市川 裕一, Ichikawa Yūichi) on composition and arrangement, and Kenichi Takagi (高木 権一, Takagi Kenichi) on bass. They were first formed in 1998 and released their debut Maxi single Blue on May 24, 2000. This was followed by their 2nd Maxi Single Kikasete (きかせて) on August 30, 2000, and their first full album Blue on September 27, 2000. Takagi left the band prior to the release of their third album The Indigo have been a duo ever since. They are signed under Geneon Entertainment.

The Indigo's songs range from pop rock to slow ballads. Their discography shows a gradual shift from an alternative-pop rock hybrid towards a preference for ballads. Their style is also shown in their covers of various rock classics in their cover albums My Fair Melodies and My Fair Melodies 2. They have also performed several songs for both the opening and ending themes for anime television series. This includes Namo Shirenu Hana (名も知れぬ花) for Ai Yori Aoshi, Under the Blue Sky for Someday's Dreamers, I Do! for Ai Yori Aoshi Enishi, and more recently, Fantasista Girl (ファンタジスタ★ガール) for Animal Yokocho. They continue to release albums at a prodigious rate, averaging one per year, and toured Korea in late 2004-early 2005. They also perform regularly in live sessions at various clubs and events. In 2007, with the release of their Best of The Indigo 2000-2006 as a chance to do so, The Indigo will (temporarily) focus on their solo projects. Taoka will be co-hosting the radio program Discover New Zealand on Kiss-FM Kobe.
Cron Job Starts