Artist Catalog


Formed: January 24 1971

Official Homepage


  • classic pop and rock
  • european
  • german


Neu! (trademarked NEU! in block capitals, German: New!, pronounced [ˈnɔʏ]) was a German krautrock band formed in Düsseldorf in 1971 by Klaus Dinger and Michael Rother, after their split from Kraftwerk. The group's albums were produced by Conny Planck, who has been regarded as the group's "hidden member". Though Neu! had minimal commercial success during its existence, the band is retrospectively considered one of the founders of krautrock and a significant influence on a variety of subsequent rock, post-punk, and electronic music artists. Neu!'s minimal and unique style included a certain drum beat, called motorik, that has been widely used by many other artists including Fujiya & Miyagi, LCD Soundsystem and Primal Scream.