Artist Catalog

21st Century Girls

Formed: June 1 1999


  • n2

21st Century Girls

21st Century Girls were a teenage all-girl band founded in 1996 in Dudley, West Midlands, UK. Previously called She Devil, the band originally consisted of singer Leanne Garner, her sister Fiona Garner on bass, guitarists Kate Turley and Meriam "Mim" Mohammad, and drummer Charlotte Fendek. Fendek later left the band, and Mohammad moved onto drums. In 1999, the band (then aged 14-16 years) were the first signing to Simon Fuller's 19 Recordings. After a big publicity campaign the band released their debut single, "21st Century Girls", in June 1999. The single reached number 16 on the UK charts.

The band disbanded after they were dropped by their record company in 2000.

Kate Turley went on to form the band The Fight.
Cron Job Starts