Artist Catalog


Nil (stylized as nil) is a Japanese rock band that was formed in 1998 by Tetsu Takano (ex-Malice Mizer, ex-Mega8Ball, ex-Zigzo, The JuneJulyAugust), Hiroyuki Kashimoto and Kyoshi Moro. The original intent of Nil was to become Tetsu's solo unit and even though it has become a full-fledged band, all lyrics and songwriting has been solely handled by Tetsu. The band only lasted briefly during its first incarnation and went on hiatus by the end of 1998. It would not resurface until the middle of 2002 when they would start recording again and Tetsu formed his own record label, Afro Skull Records. The name "Nil" literally means "absolute zero" and as an acronym refers to "native irreligious language".

In 2005, Nil had many setbacks which resulted in the departure of founding members Kashimoto and Moro who both left the band on January 10, 2005, the last day of the "Touring Inferno" tour. Eventually replacement drummer Furuton (ex-Oblivion Dust, ex-Mega8Ball support) left the band after only 6 months. By the end of 2005 Nil finally settled down with the addition of Masaru Kobayashi (ex-Soy Sauce Sonix, ex-Sads, The Cro-Magnons) on bass and Kazama Hiroyuki (ex-Fantastic Designs) on drums.

In the years since resuming activities, Nil has recorded and released 5 full albums, 7 mini albums, 1 cover album, 1 live album, 1 compilation album, 3 singles, 2 fan-club only CDs and 8 DVDs. Tetsu has claimed that Nil is his life's work and despite some bumps in the road he has showed no signs of slowing down with his music and the band Nil.